Tuesday October 5, 2021


by Rabindra Singh

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS), in consultation with the Department of State (DOS), evaluated Croatia for Visa Waiver Program (VWP) designation to ensure that it meets the requirements set forth in Section 217 of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA). 

Following evaluation, DHS determined that Croatia has satisfied the statutory requirements for initial VWP designation; therefore, DHS, in consultation with the DOS, designated Croatia as a program country. 

Accordingly, beginning December 1, 2021, eligible citizens and nationals of Croatia may apply for admission to the United States at U.S. ports of entry as nonimmigrant visitors for business or pleasure for a period of ninety days or less without first obtaining a nonimmigrant visa, provided that they are otherwise eligible for admission under applicable statutory and regulatory requirements.

Prior to this final rule, the designated countries in the VWP were Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, San Marino, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, and the United Kingdom.

If you have questions regarding VWP program, we encourage you to contact HSD Immigration at (312) 291-1234.

Related Posts